Thanks Dad, for keeping the thermostat at 60.

March 29, 2009 at 7:16 pm 1 comment

As the winter comes to an end (weather-wise, I realize it’s spring already, but the mittens are still getting regular use), I was looking at the bell curve of our gas bill and thinking about how lovely it will be when we can retire the Slanket (that’s right, Slanket. Not Snuggie. Don’t get me started) from the couch. Until I had a responsibility of paying the bill myself (okay, Shawn pays for it, but that’s a whole other blog post), I never really took into consideration how expensive gas is, and I wanted to take a minute to appreciate my Dad for always keeping the thermostat at 60.  Knowing what I know now, I wouldn’t have rolled my eyes when my dad’s response to “it’s freeeezing in here” was “put a sweatshirt on!”

It’s probably thanks to my dad’s temperature regulation that I didn’t even shudder until our condo hit a drafty 51 degrees in mid-November. You see, when you pay for heat – and your boiler is functional – warm air comes out from the baseboard heaters. And so, our first lesson in home ownership was upon us. Shelling out an un-budgeted $100 for a visit from the heating guys to fix a broken pipe attached to our boiler. There has been one additional visit since and now we realize we’ve got to stay on top of this issue. One of the easiest ways to save upwards of 10% a year on heating is by upgrading your thermostat. We’re still looking at the round dial-style from when our place was built in 1985, and we’ve purchased the RiteTemp 5-1-1 Programmable Thermostat, but are waiting for a handyman (my brother) to come install it.

Of course, what better time to install your programmable thermostat than AFTER winter, but at least we’re doing it. We’ll be sure to hang onto these old gas bills to compare next year’s usage to see if we save that 10% or more.

Entry filed under: Home Care. Tags: , .

Don’t be an overzealous first-time homebuyer. Things I Bought That I Love: Sleep Mate Sound Conditioner

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


