Gardening for the Condo-Dweller

April 7, 2009 at 8:41 pm 1 comment

So, I’ve never been interested in gardening. It wasn’t until college that I was even interested in fruits & vegetables, but that’s besides the point. Shawn’s parents have a pretty elaborate (in my definition) garden in their backyard. Shawn spent some time tending to it when he lived there, and actually has a bit of a green thumb, to my surprise. Anyway, Shawn’s parents visited this past weekend and their enthusiasm has rubbed off on me a bit.

I don’t know the first thing when it comes to building and maintaining a garden, but one thing I do know is that we have basically no room. Our “landing” is shared with our three neighbors and I feel weird making them look at our makeshift garden. Maybe windowsill is our only solution? Lucky for me, Oprah’s website has a “What Kind of Gardener Are You” quiz, which taught me a little bit about container gardens:

windowsill-gardenContainer gardens don’t require nearly the time or commitment that a larger garden may, which is music to my ears (I’m kinda lazy when it comes to watering plants and whatnot). But, they need at least 5 hours of sunlight, which could be an issue unless they’re placed in a very strategic location on our “porch”. Leafy vegetables like cabbage and lettuce can tolerate the most shade, but root crops like beets and carrots will need more sun. Fruiting vegetables such as tomatoes and cucumbers need the most sun, which is kind of a bummer, since I’d likely plant these before any other type. Wait — I can plan vegetables right? Or am I stuck growing herbs (in which case, let’s be honest, I probably won’t bother)?

Any of my apartment-dwelling friends start a container garden or something comparable? Do you think I can put my garden on the inside in the window, or does it need to be outside? Is that a stupid question?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Things I Bought That I Love: Bowflex SelectTech Dumbbells Wedding Planning Tips for the Un-Bridal

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Nicole  |  April 8, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    I attempted to plant herbs in the kitchen, on our table, in the containers. I got my basil to sprout for a couple of days and then nothing else came up. I started from seeds in the middle of the winter so I will have to try again which I am doing as soon as this weather becomes nice again and the store start selling the starter plants. You can get containers and a holder that fit over the windowsill for outside aka a window box. If my table garden fails again that is what I am switching to. Hope that helps. Oh yea, you can also get some bulbs that assist them in growing inside. (Think I did my research).

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


