Wedding Planning Tips for the Un-Bridal

April 8, 2009 at 9:11 pm Leave a comment

Oh yeah, Shawn & I are engaged! This post actually should have been written a few weeks ago, but it’s been such a whirlwind. I hadn’t gotten into the groove of blogging regularly when Shawn popped the question on Valentine’s Day! I was half-expecting it, but only in the sense that we had talked about marriage a lot over the last year, but the exact day and manner of asking me was a complete shock. He did an amaaazing job with the bling, it’s exactly what I’ve always wanted!

You don’t really know how you’re going to react until the ring is in front of you. And, if you’re anything like me, you also don’t know where to start when it comes to planning  a wedding. See, I’m not naturally bridal. So many girls grow up with a grand vision of their special day, but I was not one of them. I never really thought about my dream wedding or the perfect wedding dress, so now that the opportunity was in front of me, I was completely excited but pretty overwhelmed.

Luckily, there are a ton of resources to turn to for help in planning a wedding. The Knot, Martha Stewart Weddings, Brides and Weddingbee, to start. But, because there are so many, it just adds to your choices. I’m a girl that likes a simple list. And if there are fewer the choices, all the better. I glanced at each of these sites, and decided that there were a few steps to take just to start myself off on the right foot:

  1. If you can, plan for a long engagement. We decided on September 2010, which gave us nearly 20 months to plan our wedding. Plenty of time to take one thing at a time. Which leads to…
  2. Promise yourself you’ll take one thing at a time. We just put the down payment on our venue, which means now I can focus on securing the church. Once that’s done, I’ll move on to the dress. If I juggled the dress, flowers, bridesmaids dresses, church and venue all at the same time, I’d burn out or flip out. Keeping yourself focused on one To Do at a time will keep you from incessantly changing your mind and driving everyone around you (read: your future husband) crazy. Once you make a decision, stick with it.
  3. Write out your guest list. Yes, this is probably a stressful task to undertake (and so early in the process), but this is mostly an exercise in numbers. You just need a general idea of how many people will be at your reception – it will lead the path for every other decision you’ll be asked to make right off the bat.

That’s the only advice I can give for now. I’m not even two months into wedding planning, so I’m sure I’ll share as I go along.

Entry filed under: Wedding Planning.

Gardening for the Condo-Dweller Why I’m Domestically Disabled

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

  • Не обращай значенья! 2 years ago
  • "Оральный Секс" - это трёп между мужиками о их мнимых победах на сексуальном 2 years ago
  • Во внеконкурсных турах участвовали и даже побеждали следующие гладиаторы 2 years ago
  • Яс Колесниковой Натальи Перевод Александралт Петровой 2 years ago

Archives


