Why I’m Domestically Disabled

April 9, 2009 at 8:59 pm 2 comments

I blame my parents. They didn’t really make me help around the house when I was younger, and thus I didn’t really have a reason to learn the ways of running a household. Okay, that sounds wildly spoiled. The truth is, my parents did encourage me to help around the house, but my laziness was a much stronger force.

I know exactly where it started too. The dishwasher. We didn’t have a functioning dishwasher when we were younger, and for the first 15 years of my life, the dishes went from the cabinet to the sink to the drying rack and back to the cabinet. Between cabinet and cabinet, there was a little task of actually doing the dishes after you ate off of them. I hated this task. Sponges smelled funny, I could never reach the bottom of the cups and my fingers got raisin-y. I did everything in my power not to do this task, up to and including blatant disregard for my parents’ request for assistance. There was TV to watch!

Fast forward to the last couple years before Shawn & I moved into our condo. We lived with my dad, who had established a pretty solid routine for himself of Saturday morning cleaning, Sunday night bill-paying and nightly cooking. Cooking was never one of my strongest abilities, and since I don’t get home until 7 p.m. or so, it was usually ready for me when I got home (okay, that sounds spoiled, and rightly so). When it was just me and Shawn, we often opted for take-out. Convenience over cooking, nine times out of ten. Additionally, my dad is an incredibly gracious man and supported our goal of purchasing a home together. As such, he gave us the opportunity to live at home rent-free, as long as we picked up the cable & internet bills and a tank of oil here and there. I’m very very fortunate for the opportunity he gave us to save as much as we did; there’s no way we would own property right now otherwise.

But, before now, had I ever paid a rent payment or even seen a mortgage bill? No. Had I ever wrapped my head around the need to plan several meals a week, shop for said meals, and feed more than one mouth? Not really. Do I frequently consult the internet to find out how to get stains out of my clothes? Regularly. Am I domestically disabled, with lots to learn and lots to share? Definitely.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wedding Planning Tips for the Un-Bridal Just in Time for BBQ Season: Classic Potato Salad

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  April 10, 2009 at 5:28 am

    I made hamburger helper the other night- I felt like a chef.

  • 2. Sandra  |  April 10, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I’m so glad it’s not just me! If it requires more than 5-ish ingredients, I get overwhelmed. How’s your resolution going to make one new meal a week?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

  • Не обращай значенья! 2 years ago
  • "Оральный Секс" - это трёп между мужиками о их мнимых победах на сексуальном 2 years ago
  • Во внеконкурсных турах участвовали и даже побеждали следующие гладиаторы 2 years ago
  • Яс Колесниковой Натальи Перевод Александралт Петровой 2 years ago

Archives


