Things I’ve Learned From Shawn: Part I

April 18, 2009 at 9:34 pm Leave a comment

I have to give Shawn credit – he has done a great job getting me accustomed to domestic life. For some reason, he’s just better at this stuff than I am! Aside from the fact that I am significantly more aware of my finances (doesn’t mean I spend much less), he has done wonders to expand my cooking acumen, introduce me to gadgets like the spoon rest and has shown me the glory of taping before you paint.

He was certainly the driving force behind us getting our condo – something I’m incredibly thankful for. If we had followed the little life plan I thought I put together for us, we’d be paying rent in an apartment in somewhere outside of Boston. I realize now that it was a smart move for us to save money and buy property – especially in this market. I realize we’re incredibly lucky to have purchased a home at our age and still be financially comfortable. I can’t wait to share the lessons learned with our friends who will be looking for their own houses soon enough.

I’m also learning a lot about being handy. Don’t get me wrong – he’s no general contractor, but he knows a ton more about power tools that I ever would. I had never heard of a butterfly screw before we installed the floating shelves (and thanks to My Favorite Drywall Anchor, we’ll always know which kind to use). And I’ll admit it now, but I just needed him to verify that a “stud” in the wall was in fact a piece of wood that was flush against the drywall. I admire his enthusiasm when we talk about doing our own bathroom renovations, and though I’m kind of frightened by the possible outcomes, with a little help from my dad and YouTube, I think we’ll be alright.

There are so many reasons that I am excited to marry Shawn, but his ability to teach me little “under the radar” habits for running a household is really special to me – he probably doesn’t even realize he does it. I know I’m no Martha-in-training, but I appreciate his patience while I pretend!

Entry filed under: Things I've Learned from My Fiance. Tags: .

Love Thy Neighbor… or Don’t? Things I Love That I Haven’t Bought Yet: Calvin Klein Bedding

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


