My Spring Cleaning Wishlist

April 30, 2009 at 3:58 pm 1 comment

I want this cupboard. Immediately:

clean-cubbard

I’ve always had a thing for organizing, especially when it makes my clutter look completely streamlined (ok, and slightly sterile). I bought one of those mobile (read: plastic) filing cabinets when I was 16 to store my pay stubs and school work and probably a handful of junk mail credit card offers. I got an expandable utensil drawer organizer for my junk drawer at work, which only has aspirin and gum in it. I like order, so sue me.

I figured it would only take me a week to unpack everything and organize it exactly as I had grown accustomed to at my dad’s house. We’re unpacked, but not everything has its place, and that annoys me. So, I’m developing my spring cleaning wishlist – cleaning / organizational / decorative “To Do’s” I am determined to accomplish by June 21st:

  1. Put all VIPs (very important papers – nod to Ms. Toombs for that one) in the filing cabinet we bought – this includes condo insurance, papers & forms we accumulated at closing, information on our mortgage loan, car payments, etc.
  2. Find a better way to organize this eyesore. Eventually would like to replace it altogether, but a kitchen redo isn’t happening anytime soon.
  3. Establish a cleaning schedule that does not allow our home to hover in frat-house levels of filth as it sometimes (err, often) does. The Hyper Homemaker put together a sick weekly cleaning list that itemizes her tasks for each day. When you look at it this way, it doesn’t look nearly as overwhelming as when you save it all for a Saturday morning. This might be my most important task that I vow to accomplish.
  4. Add color to our living room. So far we’ve got beige, beige and beige. Our carpet offers some shades of green, gold and gray, but we need some serious inspiration. Probably in the form of throw pillows.
  5. Find a new home for my make up case; it currently lives next to the bathroom sink. I like counters to be free of clutter, and it drives me nuts that I don’t have a shelf, drawer or cabinet to store this stuff. Bathroom storage is by far our biggest challenge when it comes to storage.

I think this is sufficient. I could come up with plenty more, but June 21 is in less than two months, and the next few weekends are chock full of weddings, long-weekend vacations and birthday parties.

Entry filed under: Organization. Tags: , .

Lessons in Being a New Hostess with the Mostest Things I Bought That I Love: Mr. Clean Magic Eraser Extra Power

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. To Decorate or Not to Decorate « Domestically Disabled  |  September 13, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    […] 13, 2009 I’m stumped. Remember back when I had spring cleaning wishlist? Well, that was short lived. It took about 4 months to cross two things off of that list (numbers 1 […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

  • Не обращай значенья! 2 years ago
  • "Оральный Секс" - это трёп между мужиками о их мнимых победах на сексуальном 2 years ago
  • Во внеконкурсных турах участвовали и даже побеждали следующие гладиаторы 2 years ago
  • Яс Колесниковой Натальи Перевод Александралт Петровой 2 years ago

Archives


