Things I’ve Learned from Shawn: Lasagna For Dummies

May 10, 2009 at 7:30 pm 2 comments

Shawn is much more comfortable in the kitchen than I am, and – believe me – I exercise this fact regularly. When he moved to New Hampshire, little did I know that I would get not only a live-in boyfriend, but a great cook (err personal chef) as well! One of his best dishes (thanks to his mom, I believe) is this easy lasagna recipe. Ever since my short bout with the South Beach Diet, I haven’t been much of a pasta eater, but I will always have room for this lasagna. This is the kind of dish where the leftovers are better than when it’s fresh from the oven.

Ingredients

  • 15 lasagna noodles
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 small yellow onion
  • 1 lb. ground turkey (with seasoning to taste – basil, salt, pepper, etc.)
  • 1 jar tomato sauce (our fave: Prego Three-Cheese Pasta Sauce)
  • 1 container low-fat ricotta cheese
  • 1 block of mozzerella cheese, cubed

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Bring a pot of water to boil, and cook noodles as directed. When they’re al dente, take them off the stove and strain. Set aside.
  2. In a pan, sautee the onions and garlic for a few minutes, then add the ground turkey until cooked through. Add some seasoning to taste (ours usually consists of the pre-mixed Italian seasoning, salt, pepper, a little bit of basil.. you know, whatever you’re in the mood for).

ground turkey

3. Add a thin layer of sauce to the bottom ofthe baking dish, and layer 3-4 noodles across the bottom (enough to cover the bottom).

first layer

4. Layer on the ground turkey mix and top with chunks of mozzarella cheese and random dollops of ricotta cheese. Continue to layer the ingredients like this 5-ish times, depending on how deep the dish is. Sauce, noodles, turkey, cheese. Sauce, noodles, turkey, cheese.

second layer

5. Cover in tin foil and bake at 350 for 45 minutes, then uncover and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

lasagna

Mmmm.. this serves 8 to 10 if you’re normal, or 2 if you have leftovers for lunch and dinner throughout the week. I don’t have nutritional information, but if you use low-fat cheeses and ground turkey instead of beef (and even use whole wheat noodles, if you want), you are erring on the side of a healthier version. Never in my life did I think I would make lasagna, but I didn’t realize how easy it is.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Things I've Learned from My Fiance.

Domestically Detached Financially Familiar at 25: How I Did It

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lailablogs  |  May 11, 2009 at 10:59 am

    sounds delciious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  • 2. hollieiv  |  May 12, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I love this. Pasta & cheese combined= heaven on a PLATE.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

  • Не обращай значенья! 2 years ago
  • "Оральный Секс" - это трёп между мужиками о их мнимых победах на сексуальном 2 years ago
  • Во внеконкурсных турах участвовали и даже побеждали следующие гладиаторы 2 years ago
  • Яс Колесниковой Натальи Перевод Александралт Петровой 2 years ago

Archives


