Things I Love That I Haven’t Bought Yet: Low Profile Air Conditioner

May 31, 2009 at 8:04 pm Leave a comment

C’mon people, it’s 2009. Why are air conditioners still sooo bulky and unsightly? Now that we’re creeping up on summer, the weather is getting just a bit consistent with warmer temps (though as I type this, it’s 60 degrees and pouring). New technology has allowed us to streamline and simplify so many appliances and household items, but the AC has remained a boxy, ugly summer ornament hanging on our windows.

I know we’ll need to invest in an air conditioner once the NH seacoast heats up, but I’m determined to find one that doesn’t require its own storage unit in the off-season. Ideally, my perfect AC would not only look sleek, but it’d be Energy Star-qualified and programmable too. Energy Star qualified room air conditioners use at least 10% less energy than conventional models. Hellooo, happy wallet!

And, if it’s programmable, we’d be able to set it through the day to turn off when we go to work and start up again in time for us to be nice and cool in the afternoon, similar to our thermostat (:ahem: that we still haven’t installed…).

When you’re buying an AC, there are a few important features to keep in mind:

  • Size
  • Ease of installation
  • Noisiness (this is not so much an issue, since we love white noise)
  • Efficiency

After a bit of research, I give you our contenders:

LG Electronics GL6000ER Low Profile Window Air Conditioner with Remote

air conditioner1

PROS: With remote! I’m so lazy, so I love that feature! This AC takes up less of your window – only 12″ tall – leaving you more of a view. It’s programmable and the auto restart feature turns it back on automatically after a power failure (summer blackouts? SO fun!). And, Energy Star-compliant!

CONS: Once this is installed, it stays in one room (and though our place is only 1,100 sqauare feet, we likely won’t use the AC to cool the entire condo). So, if we put the air conditioner in the bedroom, we’re going to be mighty uncomfortable watching TV in a swealtering living room.

ACP-1300E NewAir Best Value Portable Air Conditioner

air conditioner2

PROS: It can be moved from room to room, and can be up to 50% more energy efficient than some central air conditioning systems due to the fact that only certain rooms are cooled. Also, it’s great for humid climates, which Portsmouth definitely is. Portable ACs also dehumidify the air, which is important to my hair. And, remote! Woo!

CONS: None, from what I can tell. And, it’s gotten great reviews!

Though the purchase is still a few weeks out, I think this quick and entirely informal product review has led me to choose the portable AC. Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a portable AC before, does anyone have one? Any cons?

Entry filed under: Things I Love That I Haven't Bought Yet. Tags: .

Top 10 Songs to Clean To (I’m Not Kidding) Things I Love That I Haven’t Bought Yet: IdeaPaint Dry-Erase Paint

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Bookmark and Share

Categories

Twitter

  • Не обращай значенья! 2 years ago
  • "Оральный Секс" - это трёп между мужиками о их мнимых победах на сексуальном 2 years ago
  • Во внеконкурсных турах участвовали и даже побеждали следующие гладиаторы 2 years ago
  • Яс Колесниковой Натальи Перевод Александралт Петровой 2 years ago

Archives


